Gluten Free Grains (3)

What Gluten Free Grains Can I Eat?

Published On January 24, 2014 | By Elise | Resources

      Even as someone who comes from a family with a history of coeliac disease, we are constantly learning about gluten free grains, seeds, flours, starches, derivatives, etc. For those of you new to gluten-free, you may be positively surprised that the number of gluten free grains and related foodstuffs outweighs the number of those that contain gluten! We hope that the below information can assist in highlighting different gluten-free and gluten-containing foodstuffs. Please note the below lists are in alphabetical order for ease of use.

GLUTEN FREE GRAINS/SEEDS/FLOURS/STARCHES/DERIVATIVES/ETC

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Chia
  • Corn/Maize
  • Flour – amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, chestnut, chickpea (besan/garbanzo/gram), coconut, corn (pure), hemp, lentil, lupin, millet, pea, potato, quinoa, rice, sesame, soya, tapioca, teff, urid
  • Flour – mixed GF
  • Flour – nut meal alternatives (e.g. almond, hazelnut)
  • Legumes
  • LSA
  • Lupin
  • Millet
  • Polenta
  • Psyllium Husks
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Starch (pure) – corn, potato, rice, tapioca
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

GRAINS/SEEDS/FLOURS/STARCHES/DERIVATIVES/ETC THAT CONTAIN GLUTEN

  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Cornflour, Wheaten
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Farro
  • Kumut
  • Malt
  • Oats*
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt/Dinkel
  • Triticale
  • Wheat
  • Wheat starch

     *Traditionally, oats contain gluten, but some literature on this topic suggests that some people who follow a gluten-free diet can tolerate oats. Coeliac Australia suggests that those people on a gluten-free diet do not consume oats – for further information, click here.

Attention! These lists are by no means a substitute for medical advice – speak with your doctor or healthcare professional to understand what can and cannot be consumed on a gluten-free diet. Similarly, just as with any gluten-free product, the labelling and packaging should be checked carefully EVERY time food is purchased to ensure it is gluten-free.

About The Author

- Hello! I'm Elise, the creator of Gluten Is The Devil. I want to show the world that following a gluten-free diet does not mean missing out on beautiful, nutritious, flavoursome food. I'm here to share my gluten-free recipes and ramblings with the world. Happy gluten-free eating!

4 Responses to What Gluten Free Grains Can I Eat?

  1. James says:

    Thank you, this really is a great list of grains and I love your site! This was a huge struggle for me at first and figuring these out is so crucial. It’s tough to find such a comprehensive list so thanks for spending the time putting it together.

    • Elise says:

      We are rapt to get your feedback, James, thanks for taking the time to reply. All the best with your gluten-free cooking!

  2. Anne says:

    Some flours may be contaminated with gluten when milled, or during production, distribution and packaging. It may not say this on the label, for example, in the UK, pease meal, chestnut flour, buckwheat flour,sorghum flour, some gram flours. You may need to ask the manufacturer to be sure, or source one that guarantees it is gluten free, usually at extra cost! Contamination declarations are voluntary in the UK, which is I think an area that needs attention by the legislators.

    • Elise says:

      Hi Anne, Thanks so much for your comment. It is very interesting to learn about the difference between countries re: legislation around gluten-free food labelling, so we really appreciate you taking the time to comment. We’d love to hear any further progress around labelling in the UK. All the best to you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>